FireSmart Webinar Summary

Thank you to all attendees that joined our webinar on Aug 12 and to those that did not make it, we hope to see you next time. The recording is now posted and is available here: https://youtu.be/X4ErgdhxI80 

Here are some URL links that were mentioned during the presentation:


FireSmart Guide to Landscaping https://firesmartcanada.ca/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/328254-PIP-Landscape-low-res.pdf

Okanagan Xeriscape Association’s Plant Database https://okanaganxeriscape.org/plant-database/


RDOS Civic Ready https://www.rdos.bc.ca/news-events/civic-ready/

FireSmart BC website: https://firesmartbc.ca/

The Squamish homeowners testimonial from the spring fire: https://firesmartbc.ca/resource-types/video/

FireSmart BC videos page, there are a number of interesting short videos/testimonials: https://firesmartbc.ca/resource-types/video/

The direct link to the section where you can look up the closest LFR: https://firesmartbc.ca/local-firesmart-representatives/

Direct link to the FireSmart101 course (can be done any time): https://firesmartcanada.ca/programs-and-education/firesmart-101/

The contacts from the slides are below: 

Kamloops Fire Centre Prevention

Specialist | Nicole Bonnett Nicole.Bonnett@gov.bc.ca | 250 571-4913

Fuels Management | Mike Aldred Michael.Aldred@gov.bc.ca | 778 220-4402

Penticton Fire ZonePrevention

Rep|Greg Gaudry Greg.Gaudry@gov.bc.ca | 250 770-3714

Wildfire Officer | Rob Osiowy Robert.Osiowy@gov.bc.ca | 250 770-3703

BCWS HQ & FireSmart BC FireSmart

Education Officer | Amanda Reynolds Amanda.Reynolds@gov.bc.ca | 778 693-2880

FireSmart Program Lead | Kelsey Winter Kelsey.Winter@gov.bc.ca | 778 974-4892 

We hope you will join us on August 26th for the next webinar “Honoring the Role of Fire on the Land”. Attached to this email is the poster with the speakers. If you would like to register, please reply to this email. 

See you next time, 

Katie Weitz

South Okanagan Real Estate BoardEducation & Technology

103 – 3310 Skaha Lake RoadPenticton, BC  V2A 6G5

Tel: (250) 492-0626  Ext# 203

Stan Teichroew

About AMCS

Building community involvement in the preservation and enjoyment of Anarchist Mountain's natural and cultural environment
This entry was posted in Announcements. Bookmark the permalink.